Supermarine Sea Lion III

This is the place to discuss and ultimately show-off all aspects of constructing and actually flying your radio-control flying boat models. Pictures of construction, materials used, finishing and action shots of them flying, are very welcome.

Supermarine Sea Lion III

Postby RobinStobbs » Sat Jul 07, 2012 4:05 pm

Good day.

I'm a newbie here though by no means a newbie to model making in general.
I have an ambition to make a r/c model of the Sea Lion III - not because I think it has any outstanding aeronautical qualities (though it might have) but because I think it has such beautiful lines. Also, having made a Seabee in the past, I'm rather hooked on pusher props!

Does anyone know if detailed plans are available, or (says he hopefully) a kit. I'd be looking at something with a wingspan of around a metre (three feet in the old days!).

Regards,
Robin
RobinStobbs

Re: Supermarine Sea Lion III

Postby BillG » Sun Jul 08, 2012 4:15 am

Sounds like a difficult plane to find plans for. I've wanted to build one also, but only using a 3-view as I haven't located any plans, which is part of why I never got started on it. I imagine you found the drawing posted on this site, but if not here it is:
viewtopic.php?f=14&t=59
Love to see your Seabee. One of these days I need to attempt putting mine in the air. It was quite a project, using 3-views.
BillG

Postby RobinStobbs » Sun Jul 08, 2012 7:02 am

G'day BillG,

Many thanks for the heads-up and repost of the Sea Lion drawings. I had not seen them but no doubt would have eventually as I browse through postings to the Forum. This gives me hope that somewhere, somebody has larger size drawings complete with fuselage/hull sections.