Colonial Skimmer prototype

This is the place to showcase YOUR pride and joy! You will know that 99.9% of us flying boat & seaplane enthusiasts will never get the chance to actually own the 'real thing', so that places you in a very enviable position ! Share with us the photo's and details of YOUR craft so that we can all enjoy it!

Colonial Skimmer prototype

Postby skimmerone » Wed Jul 14, 2010 8:28 pm

After 11 years, 2 months, and 3 days of restoration, my Skimmer has finally flown again over 20 years since her last flight. I am a new member and live in Old Chatham, NY. I have been flying Skimmers and Lakes since 1964 and have over 5000 hours total time with much of that being instruction given in Lakes and Skimmers. I have compiled a CD of the history of Lake and Colonial from 1946 to 2006 consisting of almost everything ever printed about the amphibians. Once I get the hang of uploading and downloading photos and finding my way around on this neat forum, I will entertain you with some history. Looking forward to it. John Staber
skimmerone

Re: Colonial Skimmer prototype

Postby TASSE » Wed Jul 14, 2010 8:37 pm

I was told by a pilot that the Skimmer needs the Atlantic to get airborn, is this true ?

TASSE.
TASSE

Postby skimmerone » Wed Jul 14, 2010 8:52 pm

As usual the person that told you that has probably never been near one. IF you don't load them up way over gross, they can be a spritely performer. The day we took the above photo I was right at gross weight, with a 90 degree OAT. The land takeoff was about 600 feet and the water takeoff about the same. Granted, I upgraded to a 160HP rather than the factory 150HP, but the standard 150 is no slouch if loaded properly. It also helps to know how to fly them as the technique is quite a bit different from a floatplane...this is where you really get those comments. Keep the comments coming. I love it. 1
skimmerone

Postby TASSE » Wed Jul 14, 2010 8:55 pm

Thank you skimmerone.

TASSE.
TASSE