Oshkosh AirVenture 2012

Use this section for pictures of various flying boats and amphibians taken at this type of meeting. Also for announcements of forthcoming gatherings and reports on shows that flying boats attended.

Oshkosh AirVenture 2012

Postby Cameraman » Tue Jul 17, 2012 8:57 am

Hi Guys n Gals,

well tomorrow (Wednesday 18th July) I'm taking a journey that I've been dreaming of for many, many years.

My first ever pilgrimage to Oshkosh.

I'll be 'on base' for the whole week of the show, apart from daily bus rides over the see the float guys n gals.

So are any of our members visiting the show this year?

Does anybody have any particular aircraft they like me to grab some images of whilst I'm there?

I know there's an Albatross and a Super Seawind on display, so it goes without saying I'll be clicking away at those rascals and anything else that gets it's belly wet!

Regards

Reggie
Cameraman

Re: Oshkosh AirVenture 2012

Postby MrWidgeon » Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:38 pm

Best I can tell you Reggie, is to bring your most comfortable shoes and your favorite anti-inflammatory medication.
OSH is a pretty good sized airport and during the fly-in it's literally carpeted with airplanes.
You WILL walk - a LOT and at the end of the day you're going to hurt - a LOT.
There is a public transit system of sorts that you can take from one area to another that will cut down on some of the leg work.
You're likely to get a lot of sun and a sunburn, so pack the SPF 40+, but be prepared for rain too, it almost always rains at least one or two days during that week (though this year has had very little rain in that area, so you might get lucky there).
I've never been there, but I have pounded more airport ramps lugging a large camera bag shooting airshows than I care to count (or could even remember).
I'm very jealous of you you know.
Have a great time in aviation Mecca.

Bill
In water flying attitude is everything
MrWidgeon

Postby Cameraman » Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:45 pm